Skip to content Inside the Honor Committee's deliberations on constitutional change

Read Full Article Here:

The first permanent Honor Committee was adopted in 1912 — before then, there were no formal accusatory procedures.

The Honor Committee is composed of 27 elected Honor representatives — two from each of the 10 schools except the College of Arts and Sciences, which has five.

However, the committee voted to keep all three options ­­— a random panel of students, a mixed panel of random students and Honor members and solely Honor Committee members – with 17 members voting for and 3 members voting against.

In order for a constitutional amendment to pass, the two-thirds of the Honor Committee — or 19 individuals — must be present and vote in favor of the change.

“On ballots, it’s hard to pass referendum and that’s a deeper problem with the Honor system and a lot of the organizations at U.Va.

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles